Saturday, August 8, 2009

In My Mailbox - 8/8/09

Credit goes to The Story Siren for thinking up the In My Mailbox feature.

My new books that I bought or received this week:

Sphinx's Princess by Esther Friesner

Nefertiti was far more than just a pretty face.

Nefertiti may be the dutiful daughter of a commoner, but her inquisitive mind often gets her into situations that are far from ordinary, like receiving secret lessons from a scribe. And she’s the kind of girl who acts first, and apologizes later whenever she witnesses injustice or cruelty. But she is also extraordinarily beautiful. And news of her striking beauty and impulsive behavior attracts the attention of her aunt, the manipulative Queen Tiye, who sees Nefertiti as an ideal pawn in her desire for power. Even though Nefertiti is taken from her beloved family and forced into a life filled with courtly intrigue and danger, her spirit and mind will not rest. She continues to challenge herself and the boundaries of ancient Egyptian society.


Anastasia's Secret by Susanne Dunlap

For Anastasia Romanov, life as the daughter of Russia's last tasr is about to torn apart by the violence of revolution. Ousted from the Imperial Palace by the Bolsheviks sieze control, Anastasia and her family are exiled to Siberia as the rebels determine their future. But even while their captivity stretches out and the threat to their lives grows more menacing, romance quietly blossoms between Anastasia and a sympathetic young guard named Sasha. Will their secret love be enough to help her and her family avoid the firing squad? Inspired by the mysteries that have long surrounded the fate of Russia's last princess, this is a compelling and romantic vision of what might have been.


Magic Under Glass by Jaclyn Dolamore

Nimira is a music-hall performer forced to dance for pennies to an audience of leering drunks. When wealthy sorcerer Hollin Parry hires her to do a special act - singing accompaniment to an exquisite piano-playing automaton, Nimira believes it is the start of a new life. In Parry's world, however, buried secrets stir. Unsettling below-stairs rumours abound about ghosts, a mad woman roaming the halls, and of Parry's involvement in a gang of ruthless sorcerers who torture fairies for sport. When Nimira discovers the spirit of a dashing young fairy gentleman is trapped inside the automaton's stiff limbs, waiting for someone to break the curse and set him free, the two fall in love. But it is a love set against a dreadful race against time to save the entire fairy realm, which is in mortal peril.


The Youngest Templar: Trail of Fate by Michael Spradlin

Washed up on a foreign shore, Tristan is lucky to be alive. As before, it seems to be a miracle—the Holy Grail the young Templar squire is safe-guarding has saved his life yet again. But now he is lost in a strange land, and he doesn’t know if his friends still survive.
Tristan’s knack for getting into trouble is alive and well though, and he quickly finds himself drawn into a conflict between a heretical band of Cathars and the oppressive King of France.
With his duty to the Grail pulling him back toward Britain, Tristan finds himself falling for the beautiful leader of the Cathars. And when he chooses to help her in her people’s hour of need, Tristan risks not only himself but his friends and the Grail itself on a quest that may prove a disaster.


The Confidential Life of Eugenia Cooper by Kathleen Y'Barbo

The future is clearly mapped out for New York socialite Eugenia “Gennie” Cooper, but she secretly longs to slip into the boots of her favorite dime-novel heroine and experience just one adventure before settling down. When the opportunity arises, Gennie jumps at the chance to experience the Wild West, but her plans go awry when she is drawn into the lives of silver baron Daniel Beck and his daughter and finds herself caring for them more than is prudent–especially as she’s supposed to go back to New York and marry another man.
As Gennie adapts to the rough-and-tumble world of 1880s Colorado, she must decide whether her future lies with the enigmatic Daniel Beck or back home with the life planned for her since birth. The question is whether Daniel’s past–and disgruntled miners bent on revenge–will take that choice away from her.


Darklight by Lesley Livingston

Much has changed since autumn, when Kelley Winslow learned she was Faerie royalty, fell in love with changeling guard Sonny Flannery, and saved New York City from a rampaging Faerie war band. When a terrifying encounter in Central Park sends Kelley tumbling into the Otherworld, her reunion with Sonny is joyful—but cut short. For they’ve been plunged into a game of Faerie deception and wavering allegiances in which the next move could topple a kingdom...or part them forever.
The fans who flocked to Lesley Livingston’s Wondrous Strange will fall hard for Darklight, the soaringly romantic second book in the trilogy. Breathless high stakes and vividly magical characters make this a can’t-miss fantasy for readers of Melissa Marr and Holly Black.


The Body Finder by Kimberly Darting

Violet Ambrose is grappling with two major issues: Jay Heaton and her morbid secret ability. While the sixteen-year-old is confused by her new feelings for her best friend since childhood, she is more disturbed by her “power” to sense dead bodies—or at least those that have been murdered. Since she was a little girl, she has felt the echoes the dead leave behind in the world . . . and the imprints that attach to their killers.
Violet has never considered her strange talent to be a gift; it mostly just led her to find dead birds her cat had tired of playing with. But now that a serial killer has begun terrorizing her small town, and the echoes of the local girls he’s claimed haunt her daily, she realizes she might be the only person who can stop him.
Despite his fierce protectiveness over her, Jay reluctantly agrees to help Violet on her quest to find the murderer—and Violet is unnerved to find herself hoping that Jay’s intentions are much more than friendly. But even as she’s falling intensely in love, Violet is getting closer and closer to discovering a killer . . . and becoming his prey herself.

25 comments:

katie said...

Wow you got some great books. I am very jealous of Anastasia's Secret and Magic Under Glass. Enjoy!

Sara said...

Eeek! I can't wait for Magic Under Glass! Can't wait to see what you think of it! :)

Erica said...

Soooo jealous of Sphinx's Princess! I want to read that so bad.

Kristen said...

I just added Sphinx's Princess to my to-read bookshelf on goodreads! Lucky duck! Anastasia's Secret and Magic Under Glass are also on my huge to-read list! Enjoy!

The Story Siren said...

!!! so jealous of you books this week! soo good! hope you enjoy! happy reading!

Kate said...

You had a really good week. I am dying to read most of those books! Happy reading.

Denise said...

Sphinx's Princess is on my wish list. It sounds so good.

Rebecca said...

Great books you got this week, I like the sound of The Body Finder. Hope you enjoy reading all your books.

SerieslyReady said...

The cover for Darklight is beautiful. I'm trying to steer away from Fantasy though. However, faeries are so tempting. Wondrous Strange isn't in my library. Hardly doubt I'll be reading either anytime soon.

Carolyn said...

They all look like really great books but I think The Body Finder will be going on my tbr list. You can view my mailbox HERE :)

Lauren said...

The Body Finder sounds great! Looking forward to Magic Under Glass too. Good haul. :)

cat said...

Ooo Darklight!! Yay!

All your books look a-like this week. That amuses me!

Lexie said...

:D Other then Eugenia Cooper (which was good!) I'm looking forward to almost all of your list! Especially Sphinx's Princess (ancient egypt + Esther Friesner=WIN) and Darklight!

Shalonda said...

What a great list of books! They all have such lovely covers.

And you got the Body Finder as well!

Enjoy!

Lizzy said...

Great books this week, and a lot of them are historical fiction in some ways. Anastasia's Secret sounds really interesting. Happy reading!

Yan said...

oooo Harper sent you love! :D

Ravenous Reader said...

Wow!! You have such amazing books this week. I'm so envious:) Enjoy all your reads.

PolishOutlander said...

Oooo! Sphinx's Princess! I love Esther Friesner's work and this one looks so good. Plus Ancient Egypt....yay! Happy reading all your great books you got!

Kelsey said...

Great books! I'm so jealous of Sphinx's Princess(:

Kelsey said...

....and Anatasia's Secret!

Jaime said...

Wow! I have not heard of any of these but I would love to get my hands on Sphinx's Princess, Anastasia's Secret and The Youngest Templar! Nice haul!

http://booknerdextraordinaire.blogspot.com/2009/08/in-my-mailbox-39.html

B.A.M. Book Reviews said...

You got a ton! They all sound great :)

-Briana

readwhatyouknow said...

Ack, both "Darklight" and "Sphinx's Princess." Full of jealousy! Can't wait to read them both.

Happy reading!

- Katie

Rose Green said...

I loved Magic Under Glass!

soundistheword3 said...

WOW. Such a great bunch of books this week... Magic Under Glass, Anastasia's Secret, The Body Finder... just wow. Enjoy! I can't wait to hear what you think.

Kristin

 
Blog Design by Imagination Designs all images from the Drowsy Town kit by Irene Alexeeva